قالب وردپرس درنا توس
Home / Sport / American amateur: Segundo Oliva Pinto loses after caddie touches sand (video)

American amateur: Segundo Oliva Pinto loses after caddie touches sand (video)



That is an amateur mistake

A golfer competing in round 16 at the American Amateur Championship in Oregon was eliminated on Thursday after losing the last hole match – though not for whatever he did.

Segundo Oliva Pinto was tied up with Tyler Strafaci going into the last hole and made his third shot at the par-5 into a grass bunker. Oliva Pinto can still get up and down to save par but instead automatically lose money due to the caddy’s action.

The caddy stepped into the bunker and brushed the sand with his hand. It is a violation of USGA rule 12.2 (b), which states that you must not “knowingly touch the bunker sand with your hands, sticks or rake or any other object to check the condition of the sand. and find out information for your next shot. The same goes for the player̵

7;s caddy, who can pass on the information to the player. In stroke play, it is a two stroke penalty. During the match, you will automatically skip the hole. Since Oliva Pinto and Strafaci were tied, the mistake won Strafaci.




Source link